1973
He received a scholarship of the Lichtwark-Prize awarded by the city of Hamburg.

1974
Kappeler accepts the nomination as  professor in the Department of Painting and Graphic Arts at the University of Hanover. Apart from teaching at university he participated actively in circles where topics such as armament, nuclear energy and environment were discussed. He developed cycles like the “Nordholz project” and “Eismeerzyklos”. Kappeler then went on to studying the physiognomies of those people who became victims of justice in the waning Weimar Republic and the Nazi Regime, due to their democratic opinion towards human rights and freedom of speech. He also included those who became outcasts of the modern Federal Republic of Germany because of their critical opinions. Cycles on Theodor Lessing and Carl von Ossietzky emerged.

1983
During his exhibitions in Bremen and Paris Kappeler met the lyricist Erich Fried. Fried’s frequent visits in the artist’s studio and the bringing together of texts and paintings led to an intensive friendship until Erich Fried’s death.

1985
A large-sized painting referring to Theodor Lessing triggered off a nationwide discussion because of the prohibition to hang it up in the University of Hanover. Today, this work is hanging in the hall of the “Volkshochschule”, a public institution, in the capital of Lower Saxony.

1992
Exhibitions in Berlin, Göttingen and Barcelona displayed works of his project of the “danse macabre”.

back next

1973
erhält er das Stipendium des Lichtwark-Preises der Stadt Hamburg.

1974
nimmt Kappeler die Berufung als ordentlicher Professor auf den Lehrstuhl für Malerei und Graphik an der Universität Hannover an. Außer seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Hochschule ist er aktiver Teilnehmer in den Kreisen, in denen Themen wie Aufrüstung, Kernenergie, Umwelt, diskutiert werden. Es entstehen Zyklen wie das „Projekt Nordholz“ und der „Eismeerzyklos“. In der Folge arbeitet Kappeler an Physiognomien von Menschen, die wegen ihrer demokratischen Haltung hinsichtlich der Menschenrechte und der Meinungsfreiheit Opfer der Justiz in der ausgehenden Weimarer Republik wie auch Opfer des Nazi-Terrors geworden sind und auch jener, die in der modernen BRD wegen ihrer kritischen Haltung zur Seite geschoben wurden. Zyklen zu Theodor Lessing und Carl von Ossietzky entstehen.

1983
begegnet Kappeler im Rahmen seiner Ausstellungen in Paris und Bremen dem Lyriker Erich Fried. Häufige Besuche Frieds im Atelier des Künstlers sowie das gegenseitige Nahebringen von Texten und Bildern führt zu einer intensiven Freundschaft bis zum Tode Erich Frieds.

1985
entsteht ein großformatiges Bild zu Theodor Lessing, das wegen seines Hängeverbotes in der Universität Hannover eine bundesweite Diskussion verursacht. Es hat in der Halle der Volkshochschule der Landeshauptstadt von Niedersachsen seinen Platz gefunden.

zurück weiter
     
  Neue Arbeiten  
  abstand  
  Lebenslauf  
  Thematik  
  Ausstellungen  
  Werkstandorte  
  Bibliographie  
  Kommentare  
  Kontakt